Snapchat is looking to roll out a new feature that would remind users to review their friend lists. Users will then be able to remove people whom they no longer want to be associated with.
Dubbed ‘Friend Check Up’ feature, the tool will notify users to check their friend lists to see if they’d like t remove someone.
It is launching on Android devices first over the next month and will then come to iOS devices.
The app also recently partnered with Connect Safely in the US and ChildNet in the UK as part of the Safer Internet Day. The initiative aims to add new safety resources and a help guide for users to report issues.
At the same time, Snapchat said it was making it easier for users to get in touch with a counsellor on Crisis Text Line and see confidential free messaging support.
Lastly, the app is also supporting LGBTQ youth mental health through The Trevor Project.