Instagram has added a new Mute feature, allowing users to hide account activity from the main feed, without unfollowing. The option is found under the menu button alongside the Block and Report options.
Shared photos and Stories from muted accounts won’t show up in the main feed, but notifications on comments or tagged posts will still be sent through. The Mute feature is private, with muted accounts unaware of the status.
Muting an account can be helpful for brands and marketers that want to maintain a high follow number, without overcrowding the main feed, or for individuals that don’t want to offend by unfollowing. It can also be used as a temporary feature, as Muting is easily reversed.