Facebook Messenger finally lets users delete sent messages

Facebook has finally added a feature to its Messenger app that lets users delete a message even after it has been sent in a chat or group chat. The ‘unsend’ feature is available for 10 minutes after a message has been sent.

Users had previously been able to remove messages for themselves, but not the rest of a chat.

Previously, the company reported that it was testing the tool in select countries (namely Bolivia, Colombia, Lithuania and Poland).

Users wishing to delete a post simply tape the ‘Remove for Everyone’ button.

Group chat members will then receive a notification that a message was deleted by the sender, similar to WhatsApp.

The latest addition is now available for Messenger on iOS and Android devices worldwide.

The release follows a report by TechCrunch which previously revealed that Facebook executives were able to delete chat messages whenever they pleased.

By signing up you agree to our privacy policy. You can opt out anytime.